We aren’t twelve year old little girls.

We aren’t twelve year old little girls.

If you were to ask the general public how old they think the average age of a One Direction fan a majority would say 12. Why is this? I think it is because One Direction is still seen by many people as just a stupid little boy band, when in fact they are so much more than that.

I did a survey on twitter and asked people their age. 106 people voted in that survey. Out of the 106 people, 85% of them said they were over the age of 18. That does not surprise me at all. Out of those over the age of 18, 58% said they were between the ages of 18-26.

So why can others not except the fact that we are not 12 year old little girls?

WE GREW  UP WITH THE BOYS. I am now 22 years old, I  have had the best time ever growing up with them.

I mean let’s be real here, have you listened to some of their lyrics lately?

Let’s start with Better Than Words, during Niall’s solo he says, “Best I ever had, hips don’t lie, you make me wanna shhhh one more night.” HELLO, what do you think that means? I wouldn’t let a 12 year old listen to that…

Moving on… NO CONTROL.. “Waking up beside you I’m a loaded gun”Interpret as you will but it doesn’t leave much to the imagination now does it?

Lastly, Temporary Fix… This is probably one of my favourite songs on Made in the A.M. “We can roll in the darkness, let me touch you where your heart is.” all while Harry is moaning Yeah in the background.. Even Niall has said that this song is about a one night stand after meeting in a bar. I see you Niall. 😉

Their songs have slowly gotten dirtier and dirtier, and I love it. They are growing up and writing about what they are doing with their life, not just some bubble gum pop stuff.

With all of that being said, I am so tired of people believing that this fandom is nothing but little kids. Over half of us are grown adults and should not be treated like crap for liking One Direction

Just keep in mind we aren’t 12 year old little girls.

*rant over*

 

8 thoughts on “We aren’t twelve year old little girls.

      1. You are 9 years older than me. But you are so much like me! I don’t know why people hate on our fandom. People can be Beliebers, Swifties, Selenators, Harmonizers, blah,blah,blah! But something is always wrong with Directioners? Why?
        I guess all Directioners are the same, age doesn’t matter. 😉

      2. Yup. But I am sure nothing or nobody can reduce our love for ’em. Both 1D and Directioners all know that we are the best, no matter what anyone says.#Directionersrule 🙂

Leave a Reply

